Technical Forums >> Accessories

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | >> (show all)
philwarner
Adjunct

Reged: 02/24/12
Loc: Northwest Arkansas
TEC Bike Parts center stand?
      #550162 - 02/26/12 11:05 AM

Anyone installed a TEC Bike Parts center stand on their America? I like the idea of a center stand, but how easy is it to get the bike up? I find the side stand hard to reach, but at 5'6" 150 pounds with a 32" inseam I wonder if I have the oomph and clearance get my 04 America up on a center stand either astride or beside.

I started out years ago on a Yamaha Sport 305 with both a side and a center stand, and I could easily put it on the center stand from the left side, but that was many years and a lot of wear and tear ago.

--------------------
Phil in Northwest Arkansas
04 America, Black, Corbin seat, TORs, no AI, 34K

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
dobs
Complete Newb

Reged: 03/15/11
Loc: Derbyshire, UK
Re: TEC Bike Parts center stand? [Re: philwarner]
      #550176 - 02/26/12 01:41 PM

I've got a centre stand from Norman Hyde here in the UK that I have used for over a year. He also does a grab handle a bit like on a BMW. It works well and I can even put it on the stand when fully loaded. Never caught it on the road either so must be well designed.

--------------------
Triumph America - so that you can still reach the ground when your legs get shorter but you are still not ready for a Hardly Ableto!

FriarJohnAdministrator
"Lighten up, Francis."

Reged: 01/11/05
Loc: East Helena, Montana
Re: TEC Bike Parts center stand? [Re: dobs]
      #550189 - 02/26/12 03:08 PM

I thought Dwight bought one of their stands off ebay.

--------------------
BA.com Caretaker | Friarsride | jb.com

philwarner
Adjunct

Re: TEC Bike Parts center stand? [Re: dobs]
      #550195 - 02/26/12 03:31 PM

Quote: